The BASPCAN National Office is based in York; this is where the staff members are based.  The Board of Trustees come from all areas of the UK.


Celean Camp, Director
Working with the Board of Trustees, Celean will be ensuring BASPCAN meets the needs of its members, developing our strategy and new activities, and helping to deliver our vision of a world in which children are safe from abuse.

Maureen Gordon, Administration Officer
Maureen deals with conferences and learning events as well as the membership administration. She attends national events and is the front face of BASPCAN at these. Part of her work includes the compilation of ‘BASPCAN News’, the quarterly newsletter.

Diane Heath, Editorial Manager, ‘Child Abuse Review’
Diane is the first point of contact for authors, editors and reviewers on all journal matters. Her role involves overseeing the peer review process, editing/proofing manuscripts and liaising with our publisher Wiley.

Sian Brooke, Administration

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is made up of appointed Officers and Trustees, all volunteers from the various disciplines as follows:

The Officers form the core management team for the charity, including the Chair, Past Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, and the Chairs of the Sub-Committees.  The presence of past officers ensures continuity from a governance perspective.

The Trustees include elected members, branch nominees, co-opted and appointed members.  Branches are eligible to nominate a branch member to the Board and BASPCAN members can seek nomination to be elected at the BASPCAN AGM to fill  vacancies on the Board.  The Board of Trustees endeavours to be representative of the disciplines involved in the protection and welfare of children and young people and will seek to co-opt members to ensure balance.  Members may also be co-opted for a particular expertise.

BASPCAN also has non-trustee members of our two Sub-Committees, which examine Membership and Communications, and Education, Learning and Policy.

Any correspondence for the Officers or Trustees should be sent  If any member is interested in seeking nomination please contact Maureen in the National Office.

Management Committee (Officers and Sub-committee chairs)

Wendy Thorogood, Designated Nurse Consultant for Children, NHS Dorset Branch
Nominee, South Coast Branch
Chair, South Coast Branch and Chair 2018-2021

Claire Richards, Lecturer, National Centre for the Study and Prevention of Violence and Abuse (NCSPVA) Worcester
BASPCAN Past Chair

Professor Julie Taylor, Professor of Child Protection
Institute of Clinical Sciences, University of Birmingham/Birmingham Children’s Hospital
Honorary Secretary 2016 – 2019

Dr Sam Warner, Chartered and Consultant Clinical Psychologist, Manchester
Co-Chair, Education, Learning and Policy Sub Committee and Co-Convenor, Congress 2018

Steve Myers, University of Salford
Co-Chair, Education, Learning and Policy Sub Committee

Helen Richardson Foster, Research Fellow, University of Central Lancashire
Chair Membership and Communications Sub Committee


Professor Jane V Appleton, Professor of Primary and Community Care, Oxford Brookes University, Oxford
Senior Co-Editor, ‘Child Abuse Review’

Dr Caroline Bradbury-Jones, Reader in Nursing, University of Birmingham
Elected Member

Dr Jenny Driscoll, Lecturer in Child Studies, King’s College London
Elected Member

Duncan Helm, Senior Lecturer in Social Work, Stirling University
Branch Nominee, Scottish Branch

Gerry Marshall, Social Work Inspector, RQIA Belfast
Branch Nominee, Northern Ireland Branch

Gill Probert, Former Child Protection Co-ordinator, Nottingham (retired)
Branch Nominee, East Midlands Branch
Chair, East Midlands Branch

Dr Peter Sidebotham, Associate Professor of Child Health, Warwick Medical School
Co-Editor, ‘Child Abuse Review’ and Co-Convenor, Congress 2018


Jennifer Lawrence, Former Solicitor Advocate (retired)

Jeanie McIntee, Chartered Clinical and Forensic Psychologist and Psychotherapist, CTC Psychological Services

Adrienne Plunkett, Independent Consultant

Simon Snell, Former Detective Inspector Devon and Cornwall Constabulary

Danielle Turney, Senior Lecturer in Social Work, University of Bristol